Next Gen Award

In 2018 Local Government Professionals Australia partnered with the Australian Government Department of  Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities to recognise an emerging local government talent.

Ashleigh Tapper from the City of Armadale in Western Australia took out the inaugural 2018 Next Gen Local Government Leader Award. She was presented with the award by the Hon Dr John McVeigh MP, Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government at a ceremony held in Canberra. In attendance were WA Senator Dean Smith and LG Professionals Australia National President Tony DeFazio.

The award included travel, accommodation and registration expenses to the National Congress & Business Expo.

​The Wujal Wujal Shire Council won the 2018 National Award for Excellence in Local Government, with their innovative approach to ensuring lifesaving communications remain accessible during natural disaster events.

Nominations for the 2019 awards will open shortly. Register your interest.